Donuts (or Doughnuts)!

In honor of National Donut Day, I did a storytime event centered around donuts (because who doesn’t love donuts?). The plan was to read books, play a game, then decorate and eat mini-donuts. Six children participated (including one of mine) – a huge jump from the two children at the Mother’s Day event. I am moving up in the world of storytime!

giphy-food-animated-gif

The picture book, Arnie, the Doughnut, gave me the initial idea to create this storytime. During the search to find activities/songs related to donuts, I discovered National Donut Day, which gave me the “when” to do it.

Arnie was on my shortlist of books to read, but I ended up passing it over because the children present were on the younger side. Judging from the reactions of my three, it is probably better suited for the elementary age-set versus the preschool and toddler age-set. My 7-year old thought Arnie was beyond hilarious (especially the asides in the margins), while my 4-year old and 2-year old were more “meh” about it.

Opening Song
“Clap and Sing Hello!” from Storytime Katie

Books Used

great doughnut parade missing donut

The Great Doughnut Parade by Rebecca Bond
The Case of the Missing Donut by Alison McGhee (love this book!!)

Other Possibilities
Arnie, the Doughnut by Laurie Keller
If You Give a Dog a Donut by Laura Numeroff
The Donut Chef by Bob Staake
Curious George and the Donut Delivery by H. A. Rey

Game
I ended up skipping the game because I did not have enough time to set it up. What I had planned on doing was playing a variation musical chairs called “Daisy Islands” (“Donut Islands” for this event). It is a game my Girl Scouts loved to play when they were Daisies. The mats would be brown butcher paper cut to look like donuts of varying sizes instead of the kitchen towels I used with my girls.

How to Play:
Place different sized mats on the floor, an equal number to children participating. When the music stops, the children have to stand on a mat. One mat is taken away each time. However, instead of one child being “out”, they all have to keep squeezing onto fewer mats until only one smallish-sized mat is left. The mat needs to be small enough that the children have to squeeze in and hug each other so they’ll all fit.

Activity
The main attraction was decorating mini-donuts. I made two batches that morning, one vanilla and one chocolate. The recipes came from the cookbook, Mini Donuts: 100 Bite-Sized Donut Recipes to Sweeten Your “Hole” Day by Jessica Segarra (pages 32 and 34, respectively). The kids chose two donuts and had the option of decorating them with powdered sugar or sprinkles.

Powdered sugar – place donut and small amount of powered sugar in a baggie. Seal and shake.
Sprinkles – dip donut in glaze (powdered sugar and a very small amount of milk mixed together), then dip into bowl full of sprinkles.

donutClosing Song
A variation on “Clap and Sing Hello!”

Leave a Reply

