Storytime: Rain/Water

The first science family storytime was this past Tuesday. Admittedly, there was very little in the way of actual science (unless you count painting with melting ice cubes), but the kids had fun.

Books

all the water water can be rain stojic

Song – “Jump in the Puddles” by Judi Cranston
Out of the four children in attendance, only one danced with me. The other three watched from the sidelines. I felt somewhat chumpish about being the dancing adult, but the girl who danced with me had fun.

The librarians on the Storytime Undground Facebook page were a wealth of information for songs and action rhymes relating to rain/water. One of the recommendations was “Jump in the Puddes” by Hugh Hanley. I really liked that one, but unfortunately, there wasn’t possible for me to get my hands on a copy of the song in time. The song I ended up using, I downloaded from iTunes.

Activity – Tempera Ice Cube Paint
I mixed tempera paint with water and poured the mixture into ice cube trays. After a few hours in the freezer, I stuck popsicle sticks in them. The kids loved painting with them (a mom took the unused ones home to put her her freezer for later use), and because the paint didn’t mix thoroughly with the water, the colors had interesting textures. The next time I do this, I will use finger paints instead.

story2

story1

One thought on “Storytime: Rain/Water

Leave a Reply

