Storytime: Shadows

More science! Still fun!

Books Used

what makes a shadowmy shadow

What Makes a Shadow? by Clyde Robert Bulla
My Shadow by Robert Louis Stevenson, illustrated by Monique Felix

Books (other possibilities)
Moonbear’s Shadow by Frank Asch
Shadows by April Pully Sayre
Shadow by Suzie Lee

Activities
We did three different activities during this storytime:

1. Shadow Box – I did this in between the two picture books. I cut the flaps off a smallish cardboard box and taped two layers of tissue paper over it. On the bottom of the box, I cut a hole large enough to stick objects and the end of a flashlight in. Making sure the objects were hidden, I placed one inside the box, close to the tissue paper and shined a light behind it to create a shadow. The children had to guess what the object was.

The next time I do something like this, I will modify it. A bigger box, with a bigger hole in the back, and cut-out shapes glued to a stick. The 2D shapes would be better, I think, than 3D ones.

2. Shadow Collage – The children glued black construction paper shapes onto a piece of paper. Mot of them made houses of one sort or another.

shadow1 shadow2

3. Make a Shadow – My husband let me use a portable shop light he has at work, without which, I could not have done this. I set it up on a table to shine against a bare wall in our community room, so the children could make shadows. How do you make a shadow bigger/smaller? How do you make it blurry/in focus? We tried to make shadow animals as well – birds and bunnies.

Leave a Reply

