Storytime: Wind

Books

wind edisonwindy wednesdaywindblown

Wind (Weather Basics) by Erin Edison
One Windy Wednesday by Phyllis Root
Windblown by Edouard Manceau

Books (Other Possibilities)
Feel the Wind by Arthur Dorros
I Face the Wind by Vicki Cobb
The Wind Blew by Pat Hutchins
Like a Windy Day by Frank Asch

Fingerplay
We went through this twice. The first time I did the actions and the children watched. The second time, the children stood up and acted it out with me. We did this between books #2 and #3.

I See the Wind (ChildFun)
I see the wind when the leaves dance by (dance hands around)
I see the wind when the clothes wave, “Hi!” (wave hand)
I see the wind when the trees bend low (bend arms over and down)
I see the wind when the flags all blow (wave arms high)
I see the wind when the kites fly high (raise arms high)
I see the wind when the clouds float by (wave hand gently)
I see the wind when it blows my hair (lift hair with hands)
I see the wind ‘most everywhere (hold hands out, palms up)

Activities
I had three different sequential activities set up.

1. Windblown Collage – I segued from books to activities by having the children make a collage inspired by Windblown.

wind rocket 005

2. Wind Tray – I put various heavy/light objects on a plastic tray for the children to try to move by blowing through a straw. Before they experimented, the children had to guess which objects they thought would move.

wind rocket 001

wind rocket 006 ed

3. Fan Play – I set up a box fan and gave the children streamers to hold in front of it. They also held up feathers for the fan to blow as well. The blowing feathers was the hit of storytime. I almost bought confetti for them to play with as well, but didn’t make it to the story.

Leave a Reply

