Storytime: Thunderstorms

This was the biggest storytime I’ve had yet – 7 children!

Books

big stormtap tap boom boombears in bed

The Big Storm: A Very Soggy Counting Book by Nancy Tafuri
—> I made this interactive by having the children add a “raindrop” to the “sky” every time an animal entered the cave. They took the raindrops away as the animals left.

raindrops
Tap Tap Boom Boom by Elizabeth Bluemle
—> I also made this story interactive by having the children make noise when I read “tap tap” (tap feet on floor) or “boom boom” (clap hands against thighs).
The Bears in the Bed and the Great Big Storm by Paul Bright

Song
We sung the song between the 2nd and 3rd books.

“I Hear Thunder” (tune: Frère Jacques)
I hear thunder, I hear thunder, (Drum feet on the floor.)
Don’t you hear, don’t you hear? (Pretend to listen.) *I changed this line a bit.
Pitter-patter raindrops, pitter-patter raindrops, (Flutter your fingers for raindrops.)
I’m wet through, (Shake your body vigorously.)
So are you! (Point to your child.)

Activities
1. Thunder Shaker – Each child received two tiny plastic cups and some beads. With help, they taped the cups together to make a shaker. It would have been more effective with aluminum pie plates, but I was not able to find the single size ones.

2. Shaving Cream Storms – Because I only had three little squeezy bottles, I paired the children up. Each group had a clear cup filled with water (sky). Then I sprayed shaving cream on top (clouds). The children took turns making it rain by squeezing drops of food coloring on the clouds. As the drops worked their way down, they “rained” in the water. I also attempted to have them make it hail using jelly marbles as well, but that was a failure. At the end of storytime, I gave each child a small cup with some jelly marbles in it to take home.

Leave a Reply

