Storytime: Gravity

Books
I would no use Up and Down again. I didn’t think it was a very well-written book. It did not hold the children’s attention.

up and downno jumping

Up and Down (Rookie Read-About Science) by Patricia J. Murphy
No Jumping on the Bed by Todd Arnold

Books I Meant to Use
These two books were supposed to be what I read this morning, but I forgot I had them until this evening when I found a random stack of picture books in my computer room. I read them to my 4-year old last week, but forgot to put them back with the rest of the storytime books.

balancing act gravity chin

Balancing Act by Ellen Stoll Walsh
Gravity by Jason Chin

Other Possibilities
I Fall Down by Vicki Cobb

Activity
We did two activities (though one was an extension of the first). I brought a bunch of toy cars from home and set up several ramps using shelves. The children rolled the cars down the ramps. We talked about why that happens, and what happens if we change the incline of the ramps.

The secondary activity was showing that two objects will hit the ground at the same time even if they have different weights. I used the example of: “If I held you in one hand, and a car in the other, and dropped both at the same time, you would both land on the ground at the same time.”

Leave a Reply

