Storytime: Birds

Since school has started, the age for family storytime is skewing younger. I am going to make some slight changes to it, adding songs/rhymes. I just took over toddler time, and I am starting a baby storytime, and I’m realizing focused on songs both of those are.

Books

birds henkes bring on birds

Birds by Kevin Henkes
Bring on the Birds by Susan Stockdale

Rhyme

Little Birds Action Rhyme (from Greatest Resource Educational Childcare)
Little birds, little birds, fly to the door.
Little birds, little birds, sit on the floor!
Little birds, little birds, jump up and down.
Little birds, little birds, don’t make a sound!
Little birds, little birds, tip toe to me.
Little birds, little birds, bend your knees!
Little birds, little birds, peep, peep, peep.
Little birds, little birds, sleep, sleep, sleep.

Activities

1. Eating Worms – I found this on the PreKinders website.  I cut pipe cleaners into small sections and bent them to look like “worms”. The children used clothes pins as “beaks” to pick them up. Some of the children didn’t have the motor skills, so I had them make pinchers with their thumb/pointer finger.

2. Bird Seed Cake – The original site calls for making ornaments, but I don’t have enough useable cookie cutters at home to do this (plus, the cookie cutters would have had to go home with the families while the bird seed mixture hardened). Instead, we used little cups (3oz?). I sprayed them with cooking oil, then the  children used spoons (we tried hands at first but it is incredibly sticky) to push the mixture in. I was able to pop mine out after about 6 hours, though I suggested to leave it overnight to harden.

bird seed cake

Leave a Reply

