Storytime: Trains

Books

terrific trains trains freight train

Terrific Trains by Tony Mitton
Trains: Steaming! Pulling! Huffing! by Patricia Hubbell
Freight Train by Donald Crews

Other Possibilities
Trains (Mighty Machines) by Matt Doeden

Action Rhyme
“This is a Choo Choo Train” from SurLaLune Storytime
(I would not use this again because if feels like it’s missing a line at the end.)

Song
“The Little Red Train Going Down the Track” by jbrary (link to YouTube video)
(I love this song! Which is a good thing since it was stuck in my head for the whole day.)

Activities
My original plan was to have the children make train track paintings, but my library has no paint, and surprisingly, neither do I. My 8-year old decided to make fairy houses over the weekend, which caused all paint, glitter glue, and glitter to miraculously leave their jars and containers to cover my entire living room carpet.

1. Paint chip trains – the children used paint chips and dot stickers to make their own rainbow train.

train paint2. Wooden train set – after the closing song, I brought out my sister’s childhood Brio train set for the children to play with. Thank you to my mother for mailing to me when she did!

One thought on “Storytime: Trains

Leave a Reply

