Storytime: Stars

Books
(How to Catch a Star is one of my 3-year old’s favorite books.)

how to catch a star stars stars stars stars rustad

How to Catch a Star by Oliver Jeffers
Stars! Stars! Stars! by Bob Barner
The Stars by Martha E. H. Rustad

Song “Catch a Falling Star” (idea from Sunflower Storytime)
I gave the children scarves to dance with. For Family Storytime, I played the song through completely. I noticed the children started to lose interest about halfway through, so for Toddler Time, I stopped the song during the interlude.

Action Rhyme “Bend and Stretch” (idea from Storytime Katie)
(We used our scarves with this as well.)

Bend and stretch, reach for the stars
There goes Jupiter, here comes Mars
Bend and stretch and reach for the sky
Stand on tip-e-toe, go so high!

Activity
Watercolor Art Activity (idea from Buggy and Buddy)
I had all of the supplies for this (yay!) which made it easy to put together. I couldn’t find my watercolor paper so I used card stock instead. I taped postcard-size pieces of card stock to the table and gave each child a pipette for squirting the paint. We used two colors of paint (blue and blue-green) and two types of salt (iodized table and epsom). There was a bit of a delay in seeing how the salt effected the watercolors, so know that it won’t necessarily be immediate. Doing it again, I would put each piece of paper on a paper plate.

Leave a Reply

