Storytime: Penguins

Books

penguin dunbar penguins barner penguins pichon

Penguin by Polly Dunbar
Penguins, Penguins, Everywhere! by Bob Barner
Penguins by Liz Pichon

Songs (both from Perpetual Preschool)

“I’m a Little Penguin”
(Tune: “I’m a Little Teapot”)
I’m a little penguin black and white,
I waddle to the left and I waddle to the right.
I cannot fly but I can swim,
So I waddle to the water and jump right in!

“Have You Ever Seen a Penguin?”
(Tune: “The More We Get Together”)
Have you ever seen a penguin? A penguin? A penguin?
Have you ever seen a penguin swim this way and that?
Swim this way and that way? And this way and that way?
Have you ever seen a penguin swim this way and that?

Extra verses: Slide…Waddle…Flap…

Activities
1. Carry an Egg – The children put an egg shaker between their feet and attempted to waddle across the storytime carpet. Bean bags would have been easier, but we do not have any.

2. Shape Penguins (idea from Classroom Freebies) – I cut out shapes for square and triangle penguins. We counted how many sides each shape had, then drew that number of fish for each penguin to eat.

shape penguin

shape penguin 2

Leave a Reply

