Storytime: Valentine’s Day/Hearts

Books

lilly's chocolate heart day it rained hearts mouse 1st valentine

Lilly’s Chocolate Heart by Kevin Henkes
The Day It Rained Hearts by Felicia Bond
Mouse’s First Valentine by Lauren Thompson

Songs/Action Rhymes

“Hearts and Kisses” (from Jbrary and Sur La Lune Storytime)
1 little, 2 little, 3 little hearts,
4 little, 5 little, 6 little hearts,
7 little, 8 little, 9 little hearts,
10 little hearts and a KISS!

“I’m a Little Valentine” (from Jbrary and Perry Public Library)
(Tune: “I’m a Little Teapot”)
I’m a little Valentine
red and white
with ribbons and lace
I’m a beautiful sight
I can say I love You
On Valentine’s Day
Just put me in an envelope
and give me away!

“Wave Good-Bye” (from Miss Meg’s Storytime)
I decided to try a new closing song/rhyme. It was a bit awkward, but that could be because I’m not used to it yet. The rhyme itself was very popular. We will use it next week, too.

I think it’s time, we have to go
Wave your elbows, wave your toes
Wave your tongue, wave your nose
Wave your knees, wave your lips
Blow me a kiss with your fingertips
Wave your chin, wave your eye
Now it’s time to wave goodbye

Activities
1. Secret Message Hearts – (from BHG) I cut out white paper hearts from card stock and wrote candy heart sayings on them with white crayon. The children painted with heavily watered-down tempera paints to reveal the message.

hearts

Leave a Reply

