Read Harder – Tasks in the Stack

After an almost two week hiatus on reading (yay for being sick!), I finally finished Book 6 of the ChallengeEmpress Dowager Cixi: The Concubine Who Launched Modern China by Jung Chang (#7 – A book that takes place in Asia). I’ve been building up my stack of books to read, and finally…finally…I will be able to start whittling it down. I have a project due tomorrow for the lone library school course I’m taking this semester, so the whittling will be a bit slow until after I’ve submitted it.

My patiently waiting books:

bone season gatsby fortune's pawn illium
e of w 1 evelina invaded

#1 – Author under 25 years old
The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon
(Because The Mime Order looked interesting, then learned it was a sequel, and then realized the author was under 25 when she wrote it.)

#6 – An author with a different gender than you
The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald
(Because I want to watch the movie, but won’t until I’ve read the book first.)

#12 – Sci-fi
Fortune’s Pawn by Rachel Bach
(Because it looked interesting.)

#18 – A recommendation
Ilium by Dan Simmons
(Because my best friend’s husband recommend it.)

#20 -Graphic novel
East of West Volume 1: The Promise by Jonathan Hickman and Nick Dragotta
(Because it looked interesting and was recommended to me at the ALA annual conference last  summer by the publisher.)

#22 – Pre-1850 publication date
Evalina by Fanny Burney
(Because I learned about this book while reading How to Create the Perfect Wife: Britain’s Most Ineligible Bachelor and His Enlightened Quest to Train the Ideal Mate by Wendy Moore. Fanny Burney helped one of the girls who was “trained”.)

#23 – A book published this year
Invaded by Melissa Landers
(Because I read the first book, Alienated, last year and enjoyed it. Characters’ interactions with aliens were akin to some of the xenophobic actions currently happening in our world.)

Leave a Reply

