Storytime: Jungles

Books

elephant foot if i were a jungle animal orangutangled

What To Do If An Elephant Stands On Your Foot by Michelle Robinson
If I Were a Jungle Animal by Amanda Ellery
Orangutangled by Supita Bardhan-Quallen (by far the favorite book of both storytime participants and my kids)

Songs

“I Went to the Jungle One Day” (from Perry Public Library)
(Tune: “London Bridge”)
I went to the jungle on day,
jungle one day, jungle one day.
I saw a lion on the way
And this is what he said, “ROAR!”

…elephant, monkey, snake, and shark (I know sharks are not jungle animals, but one of the little girls wanted to do a verse about a shark. So we did.)

Rhymes

“Monkey See, Monkey Do” (from Perry Public Library)
Monkey see, monkey do
Little monkey at the zoo
Monkey, monkey in the tree
Can you ________ like me?
(jump around, swing your tail, scratch an itch, eat a banana)

“I’m a Giraffe” (from Perry Public Library)
I’m a big tall giraffe stretching way up high (reach arms up overhead)
A big tall giraffe, I almost reach the sky (up on tiptoes)
I eat the leaves from the tallest tress (pretend to eat)
And when I run, I move with ease (pretend to run)
I’m a big tall giraffe stretching way up high (reach arms up overhead)
Way…up…high! (up on tiptoes)

I did this during scarf time at my toddler storytime, and we pretended our scarves were bananas to be peeled. Then we ended up washing the rug and various body parts with our scarves because that’s what they wanted to do.)

Activities
1. Jungle coloring page – I did not do anything exciting this week because all three of my kids came to work with me since they were on a mini-break from school. The children who participated storytime didn’t seem to mind, so it worked out. If  I hadn’t had to rangle my kids, I would have done one the two activities listed below:

Alternate 1. Get the Snakes! (from Queen of Theme Party Games) – water and strips of paper in a tub/water table/kiddie pool; children use craft sticks to lift the “snakes” out so baby hippo can take a bath.

Alternate 2. Jeep Safari (from SheKnows) – musical chairs, but the leader yells “A lion’s on the loose!” instead of stopping music. It’s meant to be an outdoor/playground game, but it could be modified for indoors as well. You could also modify it so that no one is ever “out” by having different sized jeeps (carpet squares, towels, etc…), and each time the call is yelled, the children have to cram onto the remaining jeeps until only one jeep is left with all the children on it.

Leave a Reply

