Storytime: Volcanoes

Books

volcano wakes up island grows

Volcano Wakes Up! by Lisa Westberg Peters (better for school-age, not pre-k/toddlers)
An Island Grows by Lola M. Schaefer

Songs

“I’m a Little Volcano” (from educatall.com)
(Tune: “I’m a Little Teapot”)
I’m a little volcano, burning hot
Here is my crater, better watch out
When my pressure builds up, I erupt
And the lava just spills right out

“Big Volcano” (from The Measured Mom)
(Tune: “Are You Sleeping?”)
Big volcano, big volcano,
Getting hot, getting hot!
Now the lava’s coming,
Now the lava’s coming
Out the top! Out the top!

*We did “Big Volcano” in place of “Popcorn Kernels” during scarf time at my toddler storytime.

Music (at toddler storytime only)
During bubble time, we listened/danced to “Volcano Juice” by Brent Holmes.

Rhymes

“I Am a Volcano!” (from Toddler Storytime)
I am a volcano ( squat down with hands around knees)
Hear me rumble! (wiggle around making rumbling noises)
The lava deep down in me,
Is beginning to bubble.
Something is going to happen,
Happen very soon!
I’m erupting with a
Big gigantic BOOM!!! (jump up and extend arms upward)

Activity
1. Treasure Volcano – piggybacking off the magic treasure hearts from Growing a Jeweled Rose, I made mini-volcanoes using my mini-muffin tin. I used brown gel food coloring instead of paint (better color saturation), and less water (crumblier, but got to the treasure faster).  Lava was made using vinegar and red liquid watercolor.

Hands down, this was one of the kids’ favorite activities we’ve done so far.

volcano 3

I don't think her dinosaur is too sure of the volcano.

I don’t think her dinosaur is too sure of the volcano.

 

Leave a Reply

