Storytime: Eggs

Books

odd egg except if easter bugs

The Odd Egg by Emily Gravett
Except If by Jim Averbeck
Easter Bugs by David A. Carter

Music – “I Know a Chicken” by Laurie Berkner
*An egg shaker song

Song

“I Wish I Were a Teeny Tiny Egg” (from Preschool Express)
(Tune: “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)
Oh, I wish I were a teeny tiny egg.
Oh, I wish I were a teeny tiny egg.
I would roll and roll around,
Rolling all around the ground.
Oh, I wish I were a teeny tiny egg.

Rhymes

“Ten Fluffy Chicks” (from Perry Public Library)
Five eggs (hold up 5 fingers)
And five eggs (hold up 5 more fingers)
That makes ten.
Sitting on top is the mother hen (lock fingers, knuckles up)
Crack, crack, crack, what do I see? (wiggle fingers apart)
Ten baby chicks as yellow as can be (hold up 10 fingers)

“So Many Eggs”(from Ms. Hegna’s Storyroom)
*I didn’t do this, but I wish I had been able to!
*Have a basket of plastic Easter eggs with (silly) animal images inside.
I found a nest while walking one day.
“Look at all the eggs!” I had to say.
I waited and waited and what did I see?
Craaack! Who hatched? A baby _______ was looking at me.

Activity
Potato Stamping (from Crafty Morning) – My step-mother cut all of the potato stamps. She used a paring knife and a pumpkin carving knife for the designs.

potato egg 1 potato egg 2

 

Leave a Reply

