May Books

jewel emma alien 1 koch 9 rules break rake accidental duchess alien 2 koch alien 3 koch hausfrau 10 ways adore 11 scandals prudence alien 4 koch Untitled-3 alien 10 koch alien 6 koch ACOTAR

*The end of my semester marked a return to binge reading. The Alien series by Gini Koch was definitely a high point. I love that the main character is unrepentantly herself. I also like her music selection.
*Hausfrau – This book is my “guilty pleasure” for Book Riot’s Read Harder Challenge. It is definitely a love it or hate it book. I’m on the love it side of the fence, but then I like stories that focus on a person’s psychological downward spiral. I will most likely end up buying it just to have it on my bookshelf because there are aspects of my life reflected in main character’s passivity and complacency.
*PrudencePrudence is the weakest novel by Gail Carriger I’ve read, but I liked the continuation of characters from her Parasol Protectorate series.  Some of the characters felt out of character (ha), such as Alexia and Conall, but I assume that’s because they are being presented through Prudence-colored glasses. I’m curious to see how this series develops.
*A Court of Thorns and Roses – I  love dark(ish) books with flawed, mouthy heroines. The tone reminded me of Cruel Beauty (another book I adore). This is the start of a new series, and I really hope a love triangle is avoided in future books. Why are there always love triangles?!

ms marvel 1 rat queens rat queens 2

*I decided to read Ms. Marvel, vol 1 because of all the buzz I’ve heard about it over the past eight months.  I like that she’s not your stereotypical superhero, I like that she has to sort out what she got herself into, but I didn’t connect with it. That being said, when my girls are a bit older, this is a comic I will put in their hands.
*The Rat Queens are still violent, crass, and awesome in the second volume. I like the development of both the characters and the plot. Can’t wait for the next volume!

westing game frankweiler bad beginning
ruby fairy amber fairy

*Bean enjoyed all three books we read in May. The Westing Game is one of my childhood favorites, and happily for me, Bean is now on board. I haven’t read Mixed-Up Files in close to 25 years, but I remembered liking it.  Bean and I agreed that it was a fun book even if aspects of it are a bit dated – how much things cost and the lack of security cameras everywhere. The Bad Beginning was the third book we read in May. I wasn’t crazy about it when I read it years ago, but thought Bean would like it. She did, but I told her that she’s on her own for the rest of the series.

*May also marked my first foray into reading chapter books to Bug. I gave her the choice of either The Rainbow Fairies series or The Magic Tree House series, and she chose fairies. While not the greatest literature in the world, they don’t make me want to gouge my eyes out when I read them. And Bug is really into them.

Leave a Reply

