Storytime: Butterflies

Books

are you a butterfly butterfly butterfly don't worry bear

Are You a Butterfly? by Judy Allen (family storytime only)
Don’t Worry Bear by Greg Foley
Butterfly Butterfly: A Book of Colors by Petr Horacek

Song

“There’s a Tiny Caterpillar on a Leaf” (from Storytime Hooligans)
(Tune: “If You’re Happy and You Know It”)
There’s a tiny caterpillar on a leaf, wiggle, wiggle,
There’s a tiny caterpillar on a leaf, wiggle, wiggle,
There’s a tiny caterpillar, a tiny caterpillar, a tiny caterpillar on a leaf, wiggle, wiggle.

There’s a big fat caterpillar on a leaf, munch, munch, etc…
There’s a pretty butterfly on a leaf, flutter, flutter, etc…

Scarf Song

“A Butterfly is on My Toe” (from Mild-Mannered Librarian)
(Tune: “Farmer in the Dell”)
A butterfly is on my toe,
A butterfly is on my toe,
Hi-ho, just watch me blow.
A butterfly is on my toe

Other verses: A fly is on my nose ,my head, my ear, my elbow, my knee, etc..

Activity
1. Static Electricity Butterflies (from I Heart Crafty Things) – I prepped 12 butterflies and balloons, had the children rub them on their hair or shirts, and hold the balloons over the butterflies. The static electricity caused the tissue paper wings to flutter. It was a big hit with both storytime groups.

butterfly

Leave a Reply

