2015 Books (First Half)

I can’t really say my reading slumped at all during the first half of 2015, even with graduate school and Girl Scout cookie sales. I was still reading at least six books/graphic novels per month. Compared to the first half of last year, there was marked increase – 38 books last year, 80 this year. You’d never know I had a life with obligations. Though in my defense, most of the reading was done in January, before the semester started, and May/June, after the semester ended. Escapist, much?

Given the number of books I read, I’m actually somewhat surprised that I only read seven straight romance novels (I could bump that number up if I included Outlander and all of the Alien books by Gini Koch, but I don’t really consider those romances).

2015 Manga/Graphic Novels (First Half) coming soon…

Adult Favorites

outlander my real chlidren koch 1 hausfrau

*Outlander – New to my perennial favorites, I can’t get enough of the characters and their interactions. I have yet to read any other book in this series, in part because I do not want to see the hell Claire and Jamie are forced to go through, and in part because I do not want the initial magic to end.
*My Real Children – An absolutely beautiful book. I love how the narrative splits into two different lives of Patricia, and how they come back together again (do a degree). The details of each world, neither the same and neither quite like ours, are wonderful.
*Touched by an Alien – I came across this book/series courtesy of Book Riot. It’s a bit campy, doesn’t take itself too seriously, and Kitty has a great accompanying playlist.
*Hausfrau – Favorite isn’t the right word for Hausfrau, but I cannot get it out of my head. Most likely because aspects of Anna and her marriage reflect my life – passivity and complacency, feeling trapped, being overwhelmed by where your decisions have led you. It’s a book I will probably never read again in its entirety, but will take off the shelf to read random passages when I need to poke the bruise.

Adult Fiction
Say Yes to the Marquess
The Strange Library
Shades of Milk and Honey
Glamour in Glass
Without a Summer
Mermaids in Paradise
The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
The Just City
The Bone Season

Rabbit Back Literature Society
Motherfucking Sharks
The Shambling Guide to New York City
Four Nights with the Duke
Emma: A Modern Retelling
Nine Rules to Break When Romancing a Rake
The Accidental Duchess
Alien Tango
Alien in the Family
Ten Ways to Be Adored When Landing a Lord
Eleven Scandals to Start to Win a Duke’s Heart
Alien Proliferation
Alien Diplomacy
Universal Alien
Alien vs Alien
Alien in the House
Alien Research
When Beauty Tamed the Beast
Dead Until Dark
Living Dead in Dallas

Adult Non-Fiction
England’s Mistress: The Infamous Life of Emma Hamilton
If Walls Could Talk: An Intimate History of the Home
Empress Dowager Cixi: The Concubine Who Launched Modern China

YA Favorites

hellhole poisoned apples court thorns cruel beauty

*Hellhole – Sarcasm, snarkiness, and black humor are three of my favorite things in books. I loved how the characters played off of each other. The bickering reminded me of my sister and I when we’re on a roll (seriously, hang out with us sometime and you’ll either fall in with us or stare in abject horror).
*Poisoned Apples – Poetry focusing on women, girls, and body image that uses fairy tales as starting points. None of the poems are terribly long, but they all pack hard punch. Girls in high school need this book. I needed this book in high school. I read it in March and I’m still thinking about how powerful the poems are.
*The Court of Thorns and Roses – I’m a sucker for dark story lines, flawed heroines, and (anti)heroes who are probably a Bad Choice (see also Cruel Beauty and Sunshine). I love how the story flows.
*Cruel Beauty – One of my favorite books of 2014, see above for my dark story line love. Nyx is petty and bitter and she wields both well.

YA Fiction
Sunbolt*
When We Wake
Stitching Snow
Hush, Hush
Crescendo
Silence
Finale
172 Hours
Tin Star

The Adoration of Jenna Fox
Red Queen
The Glass Arrow
Jewel
Prudence
Throne of Glass
Crimson Bound
Gilded Ashes*
Little Peach
A Wicked Thing
The Tricksters

*Novellas

Children’s Favorites

flights chimes misty westing game

*Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times – A lyrical story reminiscent of Neil Gaiman. I love that it assumes children can handle dark things, and that the writing/vocabulary isn’t shallow.
*Misty of Chinoteague – I included Misty because Bean freaking adored this book. I enjoyed it, but I wasn’t the one grabbing blankets in suspense during parts of the book.
*The Westing Game – A favorite of mine since I read it in 6th grade. Every time I read it, I catch new clues. I love puzzle books.

Children’s Fiction
Classic Starts: 20,000 Leagues Under the Sea
Emma and the Blue Genie
Tuesdays at the Castle
The Celery Stalks at Midnight
Sea Star
Stormy, Misty’s Foal
SeeSaw Girl
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler
The Bad Beginning
The Rainbow Fairies (all seven books)
Dinosaurs Before Dark

Leave a Reply

