Summer Science: Mixing & Snow

Mixing and snow were two separate toddler/preK programs, but for the sake of getting the post done, I’m combining them. Well…that and mixing was somewhat of a flop (entirely my fault).

All of my toddler/preK programs were well attended, and we’ll finish off the summer with an “arty party” at the end of the month.

Mixing

The idea for this program came from The Show Me Librarian’s ALSC blog post about Chemistry Science.

I started off by reading Pancakes, Pancakes! by Eric Carle. It was not my first book choice, but Whopper Cake by Karma Wilson didn’t arrive in time. I would not use the Eric Carle book again. The children were over the book before we hit the halfway mark.

For the activities, I only planned out two thinking they would take enough time (silly me).

1. Fireworks in a Glass – This activity bombed. It would have been fun if I had managed to tell everyone to gently pour the colors into the glass, instead of dumping them in.

2. Baking Soda Color Mixing – I placed two small heaps of baking soda on plates and gave each child two small cups of colored vinegar. They used pipettes to squirt the vinegar onto the piles of baking soda.

Snow

I started this program by reading Winter is for Snow by Robert Neubecker. This was followed by three activities (two science, one art).

1. Insta-Snow – I put a half a teaspoon of the powder in bowls, and poured around a tablespoon of water into small cups. The children dumped the water into the bowls, and the powder instantly expanded. I did not go into the concept of polymers. This was more a fun, tactile experience.

2. Snowstorm in a Jar (from Growing a Jeweled Rose) – I did not have enough supplies for each child to make their own snowstorm, so they gathered around the table to watch me put everything together. It was a good thing I had plenty of Alka Seltzer because they loved it!

snow jar3. Snow Paint – I’ve used this before under different names for other programs/storytimes. Shaving cream and glue make a fun paint. Glitter was added at the end. The last time I made this paint, I learned that glitter added during the mixing process disappears – unless you add an entire jar.

snow paint

Leave a Reply

