Storytime: Apples

Books

apple pie ten red apples

Apple Pie ABC by Alison Murray
Ten Red Apples by Virginia Miller

Songs

“A Little Appleseed” (from Jen in the Library)
(Tune: “Itsy Bitsy Spider”)
Once a little apple seed
was planted in the ground.
Down came the raindrops falling all around.
Out came the big sun
Bright as bright could be
And that little apple seed grew up
to be an apple tree.

Rhymes

“The Apple Tree” (from Perry Public Library)
Way up high in the apple tree (hold hands above head)
Two little apples smiled at me (make circles with thumb and forefinger of each hand, smile)
I shook that tree as hard as I could (pretend to shake tree)
Down came the apples (lower hand to ground and wiggle fingers)
Mmm…! They were good! (takes bite , rub tummy, smile)

“Apple Roll” (from Storytime Katie)
Five little apples in the bowl
One fell out and started to roll
It bumped the table and hit my feet
How many apples left to eat?
(count down)

*I brought a mixing bowl and five small apples to use as a prop while telling this story. I swirled the apples around as I said it, then tipped it over and popped an apple out to roll on the carpet in front of me. The children loved it, though one little girl kept bringing the apples back to put in the bowl.

Activity
Apple Coloring Page – This was the back up activity because I forgot to bring a knife with me to cut apples for stamping.

Leave a Reply

