Read Harder – Tasks in the Stack

Instead of buckling down and focusing on Read Harder, I’ve been trying to finish reading the 600+ page book, A Royal Experiment: The Private Life of King George III by Janice Hadlow. I am still 200 pages away from finishing it, but it is already eleven days overdue at the library, and I feel like the book is shackled to me. Don’t get me wrong, it is an absolutely fascinating book, it’s just that instead of reading it during the nine weeks I had it at home, I was reading alien romances instead. I need to return it and finish it another time. Preferably when I am not obsessed with some sub-genre or another.

Below are the first round of chosen books for the challenge. This doesn’t mean these will end up being the actual books used for the given categories, but they are the ones waiting in the wings at the moment. There are two other categories that are sort of set, but they aren’t listed because I haven’t made the tentatively final choice.

anna dressed in blood lemoncello olympics boundless gold fame citrus
fair fight romantic outlaws zealot

#1 – Horror book
Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake
(A book I’ve been curious about since it came out. It’s been on my list to read, but I’ve not gotten around to it because I don’t like being scared. And I scare very easily.)

#4 – Read aloud to someone else
Mr. Lemoncello’s Library Olympics by Chris Grabenstein
(I read Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library several years ago to Bean on the recommendation of my bestie. Bean was a little bit too young at age 6 to really appreciate it, but she liked it enough that when we learned a sequel was coming out, she was excited to read it.)

#5 – Middle grade novel
The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel
(One of our avid young readers at my library enjoyed this book, so I thought I’d give it a go. There are too many awesome middle grade novels to choose from, and this isn’t one that is on the list of books I want to read to Bean.)

#7 – Dystopian / post-apocalyptic novel
Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins
(A book I learned about courtesy of Book Riot. Post-apocalyptic California without water sounds interesting.)

#15 – Historical fiction, pre-1900
The Fair Fight by Anna Freeman
(Another Book Riot-recommended book. This one about an 18th century female boxer who was raised in a brothel.)

#19 – Feminist or feminist themes, nonfiction
Romantic Outlaws: The Extraordinary Lives of Mary Wollenstonecraft and Her Daughter Mary Shelley by Charlotte Gordon
(The title makes this choice fairly self-explanatory: Wollenstonecraft wrote A Vindication for the Rights of Women, and Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein.)

#20 – Religion, fiction or nonfiction
Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of Nazareth by Reza Aslan
(I’ve been fascinated with early Christian history since my undergrad days – my degree is in Religious Studies – and I like books that appear to be more academic than dogmatic when it comes to this topic.)

Leave a Reply

