Sophia’s 2015 Book Riot Read Harder Roundup

I was so excited when my sister turned me onto Book Riot’s reading challenge – FINALLY something to force me to look beyond the fantasy fiction and classic literature that overwhelmingly populated the bookshelves of my teenage years.  Also, an excuse to make functional spreadsheets…hooray for sortable data!

It was a lot of fun to explore the categories and find books that were both interesting to me and relevant to the challenge.  There were three categories that gave me some grief: romance novel, audiobook, and self-improvement book – romance has never interested me, listening to a book doesn’t feel the same as reading one, and ‘self-improvement’ always struck me as a little shill-y.  My choices weren’t entirely successful (looking at you, time-traveling, flip-flopping, kilt-wearing bodice ripper), but I did come away very willing to try other books that could reasonably fall into any of those categories.

Overall, Read Harder 2015 led me to so many great books!  My top three for this challenge:

1800756422551730    18143977

 

 

 

 

Here’s the complete*** list:

***I haven’t actually finished the challenge…I have one book left!  I swear I’ll finish it! I blame impulse control issues triggered by working at the circulation desk in a public library.  This is why I could never work at an animal shelter.

  1. Author under 25 – White is for Witching, Helen Oyeyemi
  2. Author over 65 – Emma: A Modern Retelling, Alexander McCall Smith
  3. Short stories – The Haunted Looking Glass,  ed. Edward Gorey
  4. Indie press – Glaciers, Alexis M. Smith
  5. LGBTQ – The Paying Guests, Sarah Waters
  6. Different gender – Election, Tom Perrotta
  7. Takes place in Asia – A Tale for the Time Being,  Ruth Ozeki
  8. Author from Africa – Waiting for the Barbarians, J.M. Coetzee
  9. Indigenous culture – The Orenda, Joseph Boyden  (I WILL read it)
  10. Microhistory – Severed: A History of Heads Lost and Heads Found, Frances Larson
  11. YA novel – Hellhole, Gina Damico
  12. Sci-fi novel – The Martian, Andy Weir
  13. Romance novel – Beyond the Highland Mist, Karen Marie Moning
  14. Award winner – All the Light We Cannot See, Anthony Doerr
  15. Retelling of a classic – Cinder, Marissa Meyer
  16. Audiobook – Paddle Your Own Canoe, Nick Offerman
  17. Collection of poetry – Poisoned Apples, Christine Heppermann
  18. Recommendation – Flights and Chimes and Mysterious Times, Emma Trevayne
  19. Published in another language – The Room, Jonas Karlsson
  20. Graphic novel – The Walking Dead Vol. 22: A New Beginning, Robert Kirkman
  21. Guilty pleasure – Catering to Nobody, Diane Mott Davidson
  22. Published before 1850 – Wuthering Heights, Emily Bronte
  23. Published in 2015 – Dead Wake: The Last Crossing of the Lusitania, Erik Larson
  24. Self-improvement – This is How, Augusten Burroughs

Leave a Reply

