Read Harder – Tasks in the Stacks 2.0

My reading focus lately has been on The Hub’s reading challenge, so Read Harder has been somewhat neglected. I’m hoping to remedy this on my trip to Thailand. Or at least on my flights given I am going from Toronto to Chiang Mai and back again.

I’ve managed to read five of the seven books listed in my last Task in the Stacks post, so not too shabby. The remaining two, Romantic Outlaws and Zealot, will be joining me on my journey. Some of the books listed below will join me as well, though I haven’t figured out which ones will make the cut.

flooded earth ten years tub edward beauty is  wound martian

#1 – Science, nonfiction
The Flooded Earth: Our Future In a World Without Ice Caps by Peter D. Ward
(A book that’s been on my TBR list for ages. I tend to go on genre binges, or in the case of nonfiction, genre TBR list creation binges.)

#3 – Essay collection
Ten Years in the Tub: A Decade Soaking in Great Books by Nick Hornby
(A book pulled from a list of suggestions for this task. I liked the movie version of “About a Boy”  – though the kid’s haircut killed me – so I thought I would give Hornby a shot.)

#6 – Biography
A Great and Terrible King: Edward I and the Forging of Britain by Marc Morris
(My interest in learning more about Edward I stems from a book I read last year – The Greatest Knight by Thomas Asbridge- about William Marshal, who served under six English kings.)

#14 – Author from SE Asia
Beauty is a Wound by Eka Kurniawan
(Another book pulled from a suggested list for this task. It sounds like an odd, somewhat grotesque book, and thus piqued my interest.)

#18 – Movie adaptation
The Martian by Andy Weir
(My husband read this book over a year ago and liked it. It’s been on my TBR list since then.)

 

Leave a Reply

