The Hub – March Progress

Because, hey…April’s almost over, so I’d better get March taken care of, right?

March was another good month for The Hub (eight books), but again a detriment to Read Harder. I am now at 20 books total out of the 25 needed. Technically, I am at 22 books, but I’m counting both volumes of Lumberjanes and Ms. Marvel as one book each. Gotta make things harder than they need to be!

simonSimon vs. the Homo-Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
I learned about this book when it first came out, but it wasn’t one I would have picked up on my own – it sounded interesting, though not what I’m normally interested in. I ended up liking it more than I thought I would (a recurrent theme with a lot of the books I’ve read for this challenge). Simon was a fairly quick read. It was engaging, and the angst, issues, consequences, and outcomes were relateable.

charm strangeCharm & Strange by Stephanie Kuehn
I don’t know what I was expecting when I started this book, but it wasn’t what happened. I assumed it would be more along the horror/thriller lines instead of the coming to terms with childhood trauma. Kuehn did a good job creating tension about what was actually going on. Aspects of it reminded me of We Are the Ants, specifically the Win’s grappling with reality and the lack of concrete closure. That being said, I enjoyed it.

bone gapBone Gap by Laura Ruby
Another book, that was what I was expecting, Bone Gap turned out to be an interesting book. It is definitely one that can be read again, trying to figure out symbolism and mythical parallels. I liked the magical realism and the incorporation of the Persephone myth.

 

super mutantSuperMutant Magic Academy by Jillian Tamaki
I was a bit unsure about this one based upon other Hub participants’ reactions to it. When I realized that it was not a narrative, but instead a collection comics, it made the book more enjoyable to read. Not for everyone, but if you like odd stories, then you would probably enjoy it. There were funny moments and relateable high school situations. It felt like it was poking fun of those moments and situations.

six of crowsSix of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
I’ve only read Shadow and Bone, which I liked, though I haven’t read the remaining books in the trilogy. Six of Crows, however, was only alright.  I found myself flipping around in the book trying to see if there was some point that would tip the story into the realm of exciting. Neither story nor characters really grabbed me.

 

bones and allBones & All by Camille DeAngelis
This was an odd and somewhat grotesque story. It never crossed over into gratuitousness. Maren is relateable in her attempt to figure out who she is and how she fits into the world. It’s a universal theme presented in a unique way.

 

illuminaeIlluminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
I loved loved loved this audiobook! Illuminae is definitely a book that should be listened to, using the hard copy as a supplement to look at ship schematics, etc… There is a full cast along with sound effects, and both are used to enhance the tension. Aden is amazingly creepy. Imagine if HAL9000 started to develop emotional sentience and had access to Reavers, and you’d have Aden.

I did have some complaints about Illuminae – the informality of some chapters could be annoying, specifically transcripts of online chats. In hardcopy, the formatting was too frenetic and artistic at times, though it was nice to see ship schematics. The verry, very end was a clunky set up for a sequel, and as shadenfreunde as it is, somewhat anticlimactic.

rad amer womenRad American Women A-Z: Rebels, Trailblazers, and Visionaries who Shaped Our History…and Our Future! by Kate Schatz
There was an interesting choice of women. I liked the diversity of them, with a wide range of backgrounds, interests, and accomplishments. It’s a book I would like my daughters to read.

Leave a Reply

