Thailand Reads

thai books 1

I flew to Thailand in April to be a groomswoman for one of my best friends. Given the travel time, I assumed I would have ample reading time. *cha-ching!* However, it didn’t really work that way. On my first  flight (Toronto to Taipei, 15 hours), I discovered too late that some previous passenger had changed the angle of my reading light, so it was shining on the person two seats over. And because the light was situated directly above that person, there was no way for me to adjust it. Just like that, my reading was limited to the books I had on my phone. Not a bad thing, per se, but I really wanted to knock out some of my hard copy books. It didn’t help that I chose A Great and Terrible King as my first selection. That book was slow reading. Interesting, but slow reading.

During rare moments of down time in my hotel room, I split my reading between A Great and Terrible King, The Martian, and These Vicious Masks. I didn’t manage to finish the first two until I was back home. The third book I didn’t finish at all. I liked the idea of X-men set in Victorian times, but I couldn’t stand Evelyn. When a story is set in the Victorian era, there are rules that need to be followed even if it’s not set in our universe. Evelyn had too much of a modern sensibility, one that did not fit in with the “when” she was in.  Proper young ladies don’t just break through established social mores to save their sister. It can be done, but it has to be done within the context (looking at a lot of the Regency romance novels on the acceptable breaking of social mores). My annoyance at Evelyn, and at Sebastian, overrode my ability to read and like the story.

The books I did manage to read completely were all on my phone: Bryony and Roses, The Seventh Bride, Skies of Fire, and Not Another Vampire Book. Bryony and Roses was a unique and interesting take on Beauty and the Beast. I liked how Bryony broke the curse, and I liked how the story ended. The Seventh Bride felt like a re-imagining of Bluebeard (which it probably was). It wasn’t as good as Bryony, but still enjoyable. Skies of Fire was forgettable, as evidenced by the fact I don’t really remember it. Not Another Vampire Book was a re-read as it is one of my favorites.

Hard Copy Books (hyperlinked)
The MartianMan vs. Mars
The Dud AvocadoAdventurous young woman in 1950s France
Blackass: A Novel Nigerian man wakes up white
These Vicious Masks Victorian Era X-Men
DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: ThailandOne of the best travel guide series around
A Great and Terrible King: Edward I and the Forging of Britain Needs money for wars and crusades
Zealot: The Life and Times of Jesus of NazarethJesus the man within his historical and political context
The Flooded Earth: Our Future In a World Without Ice Caps New places for snorkeling adventures?

eBooks (hyperlinked)
Bryony and Roses – Roses are evil
The Seventh Bride – Creepy lord with a creepy manor
Skies of Fire – Steampunk spies in the sky
Not Another Vampire Book – Stuck in the worst troped-out vampire romance novel ever

Inner courtyard of the hotel I stayed at (Bodhi Serene).

Inner courtyard of the hotel I stayed at (Bodhi Serene).

iphone thai extra 220 ed

Prayer bells. (Wat Phra Doi Suthep).

Elephants on Wat Chedi Luang Wora Viharn.

Elephants on Wat Chedi Luang Wora Viharn.

 

Leave a Reply

