The Hub – April Progress

I finally read enough books to reach the required 25 needed in order to complete the challenge! I am skipping the mega read-every-listed-book challenge since some books I don’t have access to, and others I don’t want to force myself to read. That being said, there are still a handful of books I want to read, so I’ll keep plugging away until I’ve finished those as well.  I would like to be completely done by the end of May, but my life won’t melodramatically end if I don’t.

ghosts of heavenThe Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick
This is an odd book. Very thought-provoking in the sense of time and connections. I liked that elements of each story showed up in the other stories, and that it doesn’t matter in which order you read the stories.

 

 

march 1March: Book One by John Lewis, Andrew Aydin, and Nate Powell
I love reading history presented in a graphic format. It makes feel more real, warts and nastiness and all. It is hard to fathom what it was like to live through the Civil Rights Movement for anyone who did not. My kids will be reading this when they’re older.

 

trashedTrashed by Derf Backderf
An interesting look at trash – how much of it we make, how it’s picked up, and what happens to it afterwards. The dynamic between the main characters reminds me of some of the guys I was around in the military. They share a similar black, macabre sense of humor.

 

boy in black suitThe Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds
A slice of life story, focusing on Matthew’s grief of the death of his mother, its repercussions on his father, and how he personally copes with everything. At one point in the story, the funeral home owner used the card came war as an analogy for life (108). Throughout everything, Matthew maintains a sense of humor, referencing working at a funeral home: “Perfect. I was officially weirder than the goth kids. Even better, I was the kid the goth kids wanted to be” (122).

A Silent Voice, Vols 1-3silent voice 1 by Yoshitoki Ooima
I ended up liking this more than I thought I would. Shoya’s behavior was absolutely horrible at first, and I almost stopped reading because of it. He was very much an immature bully, acting out from boredom. Once he started suffering the consequences of his actions – Shoko leaving school, and the other children ostracizing him for the rest of his school years – he began to grow on me. After years of being on the receiving end, Shoko realized exactly how horrible he was. I liked that he found Shoko and tried to atone for what he did to her.

future violenceFuturistic Violence and Fancy Suits by David Wong
This is not a book for everyone. It is odd, kind of crass, and definitely on the violent side of things. Zoey is jaded and seems resigned to her fate, but at the same time, tries to exert some level of control over her situation. Even after finishing it, I still don’t know exactly how I feel about it, other than it was odd.

Leave a Reply

