Read Harder – June Progress

We switched things up in June – I read nothing, but my husband and sister managed to knock out some Read Harder books. We’re half way through the year with mixed progress. I have one book left (currently reading it – Orlando by Virginia Woolf). Sophia is about three quarters of the way through, and she’s on track to complete the challenge. Last year, she ended up being one book/task shy. My husband managed twelve books last year, and I don’t expect him to complete the challenge this year either. I do hope he reads more than last year’s twelve. Time and other distractions will tell.

On a positive note, we now have across the board completion of another task: #7 – Dystopian / post-apocalyptic. This puts us at five total completions. We had nine total last year. Again, time will tell if we can top that this year.

With out further ado:

Me 22/24
My Husband 8/24
Sophia 17/24

#7 – Dystopian / post-apocalyptic

passage

The Passage by Justin Cronin
(I managed to get two sentences out of him!)
I liked it. It was well-written and was a vivid world.

#10 – Book more than 500 pages long

court mist fury

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
I ADORED this book.  I had to force myself to slow down so I could really savor the story, and it’s got me almost as emotionally wrecked as Harry Potter (early member of MuggleNet right here).  The first book (A Court of Thorns and Roses) was fantastic, but this one far surpasses it.  It’s beautifully written, the characters have fleshed out and grown, and the twists – so many twists and none of them pointless.  I try to limit the number of books I buy because money and tiny apartment, but this book earned the series a spot on my bookshelf.

#12 – Transgender author/MC

all the birds

All the Birds in the Sky by Charlie Jane Anders
This book was a fun read.  The wry humor made me smile, and I appreciated the blend of genres.  It takes place in our world and time (ish) with magic and science coexisting as a matter of fact, though not necessarily as general knowledge.  It was a quick, pleasantly weird read.

One thought on “Read Harder – June Progress

  1. Pingback: Sophia’s Read Harder 2016 – Complete! | Books & Bibliotheks

Leave a Reply

