Read Harder – July Progress

I quite frankly have no clue what to put in the introductory paragraph. I finished the challenge? Sophia is has only four books left and should actually complete the challenge this year? My husband read a book relevant to Read Harder? I will leave it at this because I have nothing witty to add.

With out further ado:

Me 24/24 **FINISHED!!**
My Husband 9/24
Sophia 20/24

#6 – Biography

notorious RBG

Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsberg by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik
Ruth Bader Ginsburg is amazing and this book absolutely does her justice (not sorry).  It was engaging and well-organized, incorporating archived images, internet memes, and excerpts from some of her Supreme Court decisions and other court cases.  She’s had a fascinating and impressive life so far, and I’m in awe of her intelligence, thoughtfulness, and sense of balance.  I particularly enjoyed reading about her seemingly unlikely friendship with Justice Scalia, and I also appreciated the added annotations explaining some of the finer details of her legal writing.  She’s an awesome lady, and I hope she sticks around for many, many years to come.  Final verdict: everyone should read this.

#8 – Published in birth decade

enders game

Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
This book has been nominally on my TBR list since I was 15 and one of my classmates loaned me his copy to read over the summer. I never got around to reading it. Fast forward over 20 years to my workcation, and the incredulity of my equally bookish seatmate who was boggled that I had never read it. My sister was equally surprised, so I bought the book and read it. I don’t know why I waited so long to read it, because Ender’s Game was awesome. Ender is not a likeable character in the least, but he lived by the code he set for himself. The story might seem underwhelming  and tropy by today’s standards, but the idea for it was developed in the 1970’s. Using that lens, it’s a hard look at a society justifying their actions to defeat an enemy.

#10 – Book more than 500 pages long

twelve

The Twelve by Justin Cronin
The most I could get out my husband was, “Yes, I liked it. I read all three books, didn’t I?”

#12 – Transgender author/MC

orlando

Orlando by Virginia Woolf
Orlando the movie was one of my favorites when I was an (older) child. And even though I managed to buy the book several years ago, it still took me until now to actually read it. It was enjoyable and dream-like, even if it did take some getting used to how the narrative flowed.

#16 – First book in a series by minority author

devil blue dress

Devil in a Blue Dress by Walter Mosley
I enjoy noir mysteries and this one was excellent.  It’s a well-crafted story that moves along at a nice pace (I would have read it in a single sitting if I hadn’t had to go to work).  You get a good feel for the time period, and Mosley has a canny touch when it comes to social and cultural insight.  I will be picking up more Easy Rawlins mysteries in the future.

#22 – Food memoir

voracious

Voracious: A Hungry Reader Cooks Her Way through Great Books by Cara Nicoletti
This book is fun and warm and imperfect, which makes it utterly relatable.  The author and I shared many of the same thought processes when it came to certain books, especially about the food, and it was cool to see the recipes she chose to accompany each story.  Her personal essays aren’t particularly profound or groundbreaking, but a lot of her experiences were also my experiences, which gave the whole collection an overall feeling of comfortable (and sometimes bittersweet) familiarity.  Kind of like revisiting a well-loved book.

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

One thought on “Read Harder – July Progress

  1. Pingback: Sophia’s Read Harder 2016 – Complete! | Books & Bibliotheks

Leave a Reply

