PopSugar Monthly – October

PopSugar Ultimate Challenge (1 task)

hopefulsThe Hopefuls by Jennifer Close
#32 – The first book you see in a bookstore (online on Powell’s website)
While an interesting book, it was not always an easy read. Following a marriage over a longer period of time, most of it focused on the downward sprial caused by the husband’s political ambitions to the detriment of his relationship with his wife. It was well-done, just hard to read because aspects of it hit too close to home. Not one of the characters is perfect or innocent, and they all sort of play off of each other. The ending is positive, but realistic.

PopSugar Fall Challenge (3 tasks)

geeks-guideThe Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash
#2 – Male protagonist / female author
I liked this book more than I thought I would. I enjoyed all of the references to various fandoms. It was refreshing to see a romance played out in a realistic way – the ramifications of professing your undying love towards your best friend and comic book coauthor. The only negative is that because everything is from Graham’s perspective, we don’t really get to know Roxy that well.

gunslingerThe Gunslinger by Stephen King
#8 – A famous author you’ve never read
So…I didn’t really like this book. It felt dreamy and didn’t really make a lot of sense. Aspects of it were interesting, but as a whole, not a story that grabbed me. I would have stopped reading it if I wasn’t reading it for a challenge. I Wikipedia’d the plots of the other books in the series, and don’t have any interest in reading them.

clash-of-eaglesClash of Eagles by Alan Smale
#11 – Published in 2015
In a world where Rome never fell, a legion is sent to North America to find gold. Instead, the entire legion is destroyed, with only one survivor, who must figure out how to live in a culture completely alien to him. It was a phenomenal concept. Very well researched, and any historical holes were believably filled in. This book is more of my husband’s cup of tea, than mine (I still enjoyed it), so I probably won’t finish the trilogy. I’ll just bug him to tell me what happens.

Save

Leave a Reply

