November Books

Life has been crazy recently. Holidays, upcoming (now completed) travel, and Girl Scouts, have made life fairly overwhelming. Quite frankly, I want to curl up in a little ball, read some fluff romance novels, and be left alone.

Audiobooks (10)

hemingses-of-montecello wildflower food-a-love-story astronaut-wives palace-job artful anubis-gates lesser-beasts breakfast-tiffany american-gods-10th

The Hemingses of Montecello was fascinating, if a bit long and dryly academic. The conjectures she made were fascinating – such as why Sally and James Hemings would walk away from freedom in France in order to go back to slavery in Virginia. The Astronauts Wives Club was also fascinating. One doesn’t normally think about the wives behind the scenes, but they had to maintain the “All-American” front, sometimes to the detriment of their own health. NASA dropped the ball on giving them support when they needed it. The Anubis Gates has been on my TBR list for a while because it’s considered a classic steampunk novel. I liked it, but I wouldn’t consider it steampunk. It’s magically focused, not technologically focused. Lesser Beasts was very good, and I highly recommend it – a history of the pig and humans’ relationship with keeping and eating pigs. American Gods is my least favorite Neil Gaiman book. I can’t pinpoint why exactly, but it feels rougher than his other books. That being said, matching the old gods against the new human-made gods is a cool concept; and I liked the small vignettes that focused on various gods and goddesses.

Novels (8) / Nonfiction (1)

big-tiny doon undground-railroad stiletto
bird-box eat-brains-love eaters-dead great-trouble hobbit

Seven of these books are for various PopSugar reading challenges, so there will be another post with my thoughts on them. The Big Tiny was on my TBR list for a while, and it ended up being a good read. I like the idea of tiny houses (though I know I would never want to live as tiny/off-grid as the author). Life is so much easier with less stuff. It was an uplifting read in that she took a horrible experience/health issue and used it as the springboard to reevaluate her life and her things, and ended up freeing herself from a lot of the previous stress and disconnectedness. I had high hopes for Doon, being that it involved Scotland and time-travel (interdimensional travel, in actuality), but I had to push myself to finish it. I have no interest in reading the remaining books in the series. The plot was poorly developed, stereotypes and clichés abounded. Character-wise, Mackenna is the one who drove me nuts. She is supposed to be the foil for Veronica (a complete Mary Sue), but Mackenna came off as self-absorbed and idiotic.

Graphic (8)

magus bride say-i-love-you-8 snow-white-graphic

Read Aloud (1)

ng-1

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

