PopSugar Ultimate – November

PopSugar Ultimate (5 tasks)

hemingses-of-montecelloThe Hemgingses of Montcello by Annette Gordon-Reed
#2 – National Book Award winner
The Hemingses of Montecello was fascinating, if a bit long and dryly academic. The dynamics between Jefferson and various Hemingses were interesting, as were the overall attitude and social mores concerning slavery in the very early years of the US. Gordon-Reed does make a lot of conjectures, but they are supported in part by contemporary documents. The big question that cannot be answered (for me, at least), is why James and Sally Hemings would willing leave France, where French law recognized them as free, and go back to a life of slavery in Virginia.

eaters-deadEaters of the Dead by Michael Crichton
#4 – Haven’t read since high school
I read this book somewhere around my freshman/sophomore year in high school. The only lingering impression I have of it from then is that it was fairly dark and somewhat unnerving. Reading it 20+ years later, it feels sort of like fantasy or a form of magical realism given what we know believe we know of Neanderthal culture.  I did like the formatting of it as an eyewitness report, including foot notes. Though because of this, there was no real connection to any of the characters. The reader remained on the outside.

snow-white-graphicSnow White: A Graphic Novel by Matt Phelan
#5 – NYT bestseller
I liked the Depression Era setting of this version of Snow White, however, it lacked substance. The panels were sparse (not necessarily a bad thing given when this was set), and the pacing was too fast, only glancing over most of the details. I would have liked to have spent more time in the story.

undground-railroadThe Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead
#19 – Oprah book club
I enjoyed this book more than I thought I would given there wasn’t a lot of character development. I would have liked to learn more about the inner workings of some of the characters (especially Caesar), but the detachment fit with the narrative style, highlighting the brutality. I also liked the concept of the underground railroad being a physical thing, and the vignettes about various secondary characters.

eat-brains-loveEat, Brains, Love by Jeff Hart
#36 – Road trip
Zombies have never really been favorite of mine. I don’t like gore and horror, so I tend to avoid them. But there are times that the zombies pull me in (such as “Shaun of the Dead” and Warm Bodies – the book is much better than the movie). Eat Brains Love falls into this category, in part because it does not take itself too seriously. Jake is a teenage boy, and well…he acts like one. I also like that the zombie mythology is different from what’s considered traditional.

 

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

