Emma’s PopSugar Fall Challenge 2016

I love the fact that PopSugar puts out multiple reading challenges throughout the year, and for better or for worse, I know know they exist. The Fall Challenge was bite-sized comparatively, and I liked some of the categories. I had initially thought I was done with the challenge when I finished The Hobbit because I couldn’t remember ever participating in a book club. Turns out I was wrong. During my first year at library school, one of the students put together a book club. Pope Joan was the first selection. My involvement didn’t extend beyond joining the Goodreads group, and then completely forgetting about it. Luckily for the challenge completist in me, my memory was jogged while looking through my Amazon “holy cow, woman, you have almost 1000 books here” TBR list.

Favorites

it-happened-one-autumn bird-box

It Happened One Autumn by Lisa Kleypas
I had never read any of Lisa Kleypas’ books before this, but I am now a fan. I’m a sucker for smart, sassy MCs in romance novels, and Lillian fit the bill. She was opinionated, but not to the point that I wanted to throw the book across the room. Marcus was also a well done “asshole with a heart of gold”. He was cold and gruff and superior, but even in the early stages, he still looked out for Lillian’s welfare and safety. I loved how they played off of each other.

Bird Box by Josh Malerman
I’m sure I ruined a decent amount of the psychological impact of this book by reading the end after only 20 pages into it, but I am a wuss, and I don’t like being scared. Bird Box is definitely Hitchcockian in the scare aspect – giving enough snippets for your mind to run rampant. The whisper of terror is so much worse than actually showing it. Which probably makes it a bit hypocritical on my part that I thought the suspense could have been ramped up in parts. The only thing that bothered me in the book was the scene where Malorie gave birth. Having gone through pain med-free childbirth three times, the descriptions of it felt off, especially in where/how the Malorie felt the pain.

List of Tasks

Bird Box by Josh Malerman
#1 – Scary book

The Geek’s Guide to Unrequited Love by Sarvenaz Tash
#2 – Male protagonist / female author

The Rook  and Stiletto by Daniel O’Malley
#3 – A book and its sequel

Wildflower by Drew Barrymore
#4 – Celebrity memoir

The Palace Job by Patrick Weekes
#5 – Independent bookstore employee recommendation (Powell’s)

Pope Joan by Donna Woolfolk Cross
#6 – Skipped book club pick

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien
#7 – A book you’ve always wanted to read, but haven’t

The Gunslinger by Stephen King
#8 – A famous author you’ve never read

The Great Trouble by Deborah Hopkinson
#9 – Based on a historical event (Cholera epidemic in London, 1854)

Sabriel by Garth Nix
#10 – Published in 1995

Clash of Eagles by Alan Smale
#11 – Published in 2015

Food: A Love Story by Jim Gaffigan
#12 – A book with “food” in the title

What’s a Ghoul to Do? by Victoria Laurie
#13 – Pun in the title

It Happened One Autumn by Lisa Kleypas
#14 – Takes place in the fall

The Gentleman by Leo Forrest
#15 – Orange cover

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

