PopSugar – December

Better late than never, right?

PopSugar Ultimate (4)

core-of-the-sunCore of the Sun by Johanna Sinisalo
#6 – Translated into English
My sister loved this book, but I thought it was kind of meh. Using chiles as illegal drugs/currency was creative, as was the reason why chiles became contraband. I never built a connection to Vanna, and didn’t particularly care for her. The fact that chile was spelled “chili” bothered me as well. For former is the fruit/vegetable. The latter is the bean/meat dish you eat. Petty, I know, but sometimes it’s the little things in a book that drive you bonkers.

date-nightDate Night on Union Station by E. M. Foner
#7 – Romance set in the future
I had an incredibly hard time finding the right book for this category. Date Night ended up being my last ditch effort to fulfill it. I didn’t really like it. The world-building was interesting, but the story wasn’t. The ending was also out of left field and then it just…stopped.

 

why-women-shouldWhy Women Should Rule the World by Dee Dee Myers
#16 – Political memoir
Another category I had a hard time finding any book that seemed remotely interesting (politics is not my genre of choice). I chose this one because it was short. Luckily for me, it turned out to be fairly interesting.  Myers mixed her personal experiences with her thoughts on the overall positive impact women have, and will have, when there are greater numbers of them in the workplace. It wasn’t a man vs. women, or one gender is better than the other kind of book. She looked at how men and women react to situations differently – both have strong and weak points – and how when there are more women in the workplace, these differences can make things better for the company and employees.

princess-saves-herselfThe Princess Saves Herself in this One by Amanda Lovelace
#31 – Poetry
A very personal and raw collection of poems. One can argue that most of the poems lacked substance, but poetry is as fluid as it is subjective. The poems were short, but most of them packed a punch. I liked the asides/quips at the end of each poem that off-set them. In the same vein as Poisoned Apples: Poems for You, My Pretty.

 

PopSugar Fall (1)

pope-joanPope Joan by Donna Woolfolk Cross
#6 – Skipped book club pick
So I didn’t think I would actually cross off this category as I don’t participate in book clubs. And I only last minute remembered that I did give it the good old college try during my first summer at library school. I went so far as to join the group…and then did nothing. Pope Joan was the first book chosen. I found it to be very interesting, very well-researched. I was sucked into it until about the last 50ish pages. From then on, it felt like the author realized she needed to wrap things up, and the story got sloppy – the love interest had to come back into play, and Joan stupidly steamrolled progressive thinking into the Vatican.

Leave a Reply

