2016 Manga/Graphic Novels (Second Half)

My graphic reading has continued to drop, in part because I’ve stepped out of the library world and am not as exposed to it as I once was, and in part because my library system does not carry many of the (manga) titles I would like to read. I also have over a 1000 books/graphic novels/manga in my TBR list, so it’s going to take some time.

2016 Manga/Graphic Novels (First Half)

Favorite Graphic Novels

starlight white-donkey

Starlight
Starlight was bittersweet, and I absolutely loved it. A man well past his prime, living on the memories of his interstellar adventures, who is shunted aside by society and children who don’t believe him. One evening, he gets whisked away by a boy in spaceship to help save the world he saved decades before.

Terminal Lance: The White Donkey
This one was harshly beautiful and depressing. A young man went to war, saw incredibly traumatic things, and then was unable to reconcile that trauma with normal American life.

Graphic Novels
Saga, Vol 6
Lumberjanes, Vol 4: Out of Time
Paper Girls, Vol 1
Sex Criminals, Vol 1: One Weird Trick
East of West, Vol 1: The Promise
Starlight
Terminal Lance: The White Donkey
Snow White: A Graphic Novel

Manga Favorites

tg-8 say-i-love-you-8

Tokyo Ghoul, Vol 6-8
Tokyo Ghoul was on of my favorite manga from the first half of the year, and it continues to remain so. Horror is outside of my normal reading range, but the characters and their motivations are fascinating. As is the dynamic between humans and ghouls – both see the other as monsters, and a serious rumble is brewing.

Say I Love You, Vol 8-10
I haven’t read this story in a while, and it was nice to see the love story still progressing between Mei and Yamato with all it’s happiness and bumps. I also liked learning more about some of the secondary characters. In all, it’s a good love story where the lead is a good guy and not an asshole with a hidden heart of gold.

Manga
Tokyo Ghoul, Vol 6-8
One Piece, Vol 31-33
A Silent Voice, Vol 4-6
The Ancient Magus’ Bride, Vol 1-4
Say I Love You, 8-10

Save

Save

Save

Save

Leave a Reply

